Zoom Meetings: Security and Privacy in Your Meetings

If you have concerns about the security of your Zoom meetings, you can protect your session by using the following controls. For instructions, select Help from the Zoom window or visit the Zoom Help Center.

Note: You can configure many of the settings below as defaults for all of your meetings. From https://duke.zoom.us, sign in and select ‘Settings’ (left navigation).

Important: Do not publish the meeting ID on any public facing webpages unless you employ the following guidelines:

Scheduling Meetings

  • Generate meeting ID automatically – Unique meeting IDs expire 30 days after the meeting has occurred, and provide protection if a meeting ID was shared accidentally to a public audience.
  • Require meeting password – Don't share your meeting password.
  • Enable waiting room – Review attendees before admitting them to the meeting. For large classes or conferences, consider assigning this job to a co-host. You can now turn this on during the meeting via the Security button.
  • Only authenticated Duke users can join – This option ensures that only Duke Zoom users can attend your meeting. Important: Many Duke users do not have a Zoom account, or have one with a non-Duke address. To ensure the desired participants can join your meeting, use a combination of the above settings instead.
  • Large meetings with non-Duke attendees 
    • Register attendees prior to the event and send the meeting details only after they've completed registration. This could replace the need to publish the meeting ID as the confirmation email would have those details.
    • Set the meeting to only admit authenticated users who sign into Zoom. This would eliminate the ability to join the meeting anonymously (they would have to create a Zoom account if they don't have one already).

During Meetings

  • Make use of the "Security" button - it contains "Lock Meeting" and "Enable Waiting Room". You can also toggle the ability for participants to "Share Screen", "Chat" and "Rename Themselves".
  • Mute all – As the host, you can mute all in the Participant pane. You can also stop participants from unmuting themselves, and ask them to use chat for questions. For large classes or conferences, consider assigning this job to a co-host.
  • Lock meeting – Prevents any additional participants from joining. 
  • Screen sharing is host only – By default, only hosts can share their screens. Hosts can grant individuals the ability to share in the participant pane.
  • Allow participants to chat with host only – Available from the chat pane. Restrict chat to host only, no one, or everyone.
  • Disable annotation - When sharing content, use the More option to disable attendee annotation.
  • Remove unwanted participants - Beside the participants name (in the Participant pane) select More, and then select Remove. 
  • Report participant - If a user made attempts to disrupt your meeting either by speaking, chatting, or showing offensive video, select the option Report which is available under the Security icon or on each participant's name. This will alert Zoom Support.

Recording Meetings

You can record your meeting, but sensitive information should not be recorded (nor should it be included in a meeting title/description or any text field that may be stored in Zoom). When recording, do the following: 

  • Advise attendees that they are being recorded.
  • Record the active speaker using screen sharing, not Gallery view. See Recording Layouts for details.
  • Spotlight video to lock the active speaker to the presenter and uncheck ‘Display participants’ names in the recording.
  • Do not discuss protected health information (PHI).

Protecting Recordings

Do the following when sharing recordings to protect their privacy:

If you want even more control over your recordings, consider using Duke’s Warpwire or other video sharing services.

For more information about privacy with Zoom meetings, check out the Duke Zoom terms of service.

Article Number: KB0032713