Box.com: Deleting and Restoring Files

Using the Trash to Restore Files and Folders

Box features a Trash option, that allows you to recover files and folders that have been deleted. By default, all deleted items will be moved to the the Trash location of your account and will be purged after 30 days.

Deleted items which have been moved to the Trash will still count against your total storage allocation. When items are deleted from a collaboration folder, both the owner and the user who deleted the item will be able to recover the items from the Trash. The item’s size will only be counted against the owner’s storage quota.

Accessing The Trash
The "Trash" is in the left-most column.

Recovering Items

On the Trash page you have the option to recover or empty the entire Trash folder, or specific items as needed. To empty or recover the entire folder, simply select “Delete All” or “Restore All” from the top of the page. Recovered files and folders will be restored to the location they were deleted from.

To recover specific items from the trash, simply select the check box to the right of one or more items you want to recover and select the ‘Restore’ icon from the above the files.

 

The following will be restored along with the file:

  • Description
  • Tags
  • Comments
  • Tasks
  • Share state (whether the shared link is enabled or disabled)
  • Collaborators

The following will not be restored when recovering

  • Expiration setting on shared links
  • Expiration settings for deletion

 

Article number: KB0016529

Valid to: October 19, 2024